You're reading...
comedy, marketing, Pop Culture, San Francisco

A Day Job and a Dream

This latest KML video has a special place in my heart–and not just because I co-wrote and co-produced it. It’s because I’ve spent the better part of my career juggling vocation and avocation. When I was an editor, I would write prose and comics scripts on nights, weekends, and, one very lonely Key West holiday. While in advertising, I performed weekly gigs with an improv troupe, wrote and produced a sketch comedy show, and played Joe’s Pub and CBGB with my comedy/rock band.

My point being, more often than not, I’ve used my day job to fund the stuff I loved.

That’s what inspired our second of the two “Feed the Lobster” campaign spots: There’s just too many of us out there with a day job and a dream.

Ably directed by the legendary Chris Parisi and my co-writer/producer, Miriam Wild-Smith. See for yourself, feel free to donate, and have a great 2011.

About kengrobe

Both for work and for pleasure, I create. I'm a writer, a musician, a creative manager, a sketch comic, and a comics writer (don't get those last two twisted!). I've made rent with some or all of these. And for my next trick, I'm going to figure out which of them I want to do most.

Discussion

One thought on “A Day Job and a Dream

  1. I hear this post — I wrote a song a few years ago about my own chase of the dream job while working the day job. It was called (unsurprisingly) “A Day Job and a Dream”. You can hear it here:

    http://www.broadjam.com/player/player.php?hosting=1&play_file=12663_297427

    Posted by David | February 5, 2011, 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
